Pas Les Misérables

There was a time when God was kind

When his voice was soft

And his words inviting

There was a time my love was blind

And the church was a song

And the song was exciting

There was a time

Then the light came on

 

I woke from a dream and said goodbye

Then hope was high

And life worth living

I dared say God was all a lie

I dared say I didn’t need his forgiving

Then I was free and unafraid

My time with God was used and wasted

There was no ransom to be paid

The songs unsung, the wine untasted

 

But for progress I must fight

Lift my voice soft as thunder

As the church false hope imparts

As they turn to guilt and shame

 

God slept a summer by my side

He filled my days with baseless wonder

He took my childhood and my pride

But he was gone when autumn came

 

And still I dream he’ll come to me

That we will live the years together

But there are dreams that cannot be

There’s no God controlling the weather.

 

I had a dream my life would be

So different from the one I’m living

So different now from what it seemed

Now God is dead, and dreams are dreams.

Leave a Reply

